Rimsky-Korsakov: La Grande Pâque russe ov., op. 36
    Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio espagnol, op. 34
    Mussorgsky: Une Nuit sur le Mont Chauve
    Borodine: Dans les Steppes de l'Asie centrale
    [Rimsky-Korsakov: Vol du bourdon / Flight of the Bumblebee]

André Cluytens, conductor. Pierre Nérini, violin solo.

DESCRIPTION: 1 disc, 33 1/3 rpm, 12 in.

NOTES: [January 2004:] Relationship of source recording(s) to later re-editions of same works with Philharmonia Orchestra / Cluytens unclear. EMI CDs suggest recording dates of November 1958 (Kingsway Hall, London) for a Philharmonia / Cluytens disc including Night on Bald Mountain, Steppes of Central Asia, and Caprciccio espagnol; with a September 1959 (and not 1952) recording date (Salle Wagram) with the Société des Concerts: Russian Easter Ov., Flight of the Bumblebee, and Polovtsian Dances. Thus is seems possible that this entry, and BnF entries on which it was orginally based, conflate recordings of 1952 and 1959.

  • Pathé DTX 116 (labels XPTX 130 and XPTX 131). Paris: Pathé-Marconi. On disc: "Enregistré au Théatre des Champs-Elysées." Does not incude Vol du bourdon.
    • Also:
      • Vox PLP 7670. $5.95. [rev. November 1952ff.] Also available on tape.
      • Pathé DTX 1165 microgroove (d. l. September 1956)
      • Pathé DTX 30115 (Plaisir Musical) [without Vol du bourdon?] (d. l. November 1958)
      • La Grande Pâque russe and Capriccio espagnol: Pathé DTX 25120 Plaisir Musical, 10 in.
    • As 78 rpms:
      • Borodin: Pathé PDT 280. 1952.
    • As 45 rpm, 7 in.:
      • Borodin: Pathé ED 64, ED 17070
      • La Grande Pâque russe: Pathé ED 67
      • Une Nuit sur le Mont Chauve: Pathé ED 69, ED 17071A
      • Capriccio espagnol: Pathé ED 17072. [Copy: US-Wc.]
    • CDs [see highlighted note above]

INDEX: 52~030